Lush On Tour

P1020677

No, that’s not a reference to my enthusiastic sampling of Poland’s craft beer during my stay in Gdansk. The ‘Lush’ in question is of course my cardigan, which I managed to finish in time for my trip. Here I am wearing it at the European Centre for Solidarity, a worthy-sounding but actually completely excellent museum on the site of the famous Gdansk shipyards.

P1020675

I really enjoyed knitting the cardigan and was delighted with how it came together – quickly and painlessly on the whole, although I did make a bit of a meal of the buttonbands, picking up too few stitches on my first attempt and having to rip them out. Also I’m the world’s worst at knitting on dpns; no matter how much I tighten the stitches you can see the ladders for miles, so my sleeves are less than perfect. Oh, and there was the small matter of only buying nine buttons when I’d actually made ten buttonholes…but quirks aside, it’s an easy-to-wear, nice looking knit with which I’m very happy.

P1020704

Gdansk is in the north of Poland so it can get quite cold, but our weather was more of the  damp and mild variety – perfect for a shorter-sleeved knit like Lush. Here I am enjoying my morning tea on the balcony of our apartment, a modern, airy space called Apartment Lastadia. The old town, with its long, pedestrianised main street and beautiful, baroque buildings – most of which are exact reconstructions of those destroyed in the war – was a mere ten minute walk away.

P1020653

 

P1020706The Baltic has amazing resources of amber, and Gdansk is a treasure-trove of amber jewellery – it’s everywhere! One narrow, cobbled lane called Mariacka Street is lined with amber boutiques, their wares beautifully displayed outside in illuminated glass cabinets, which makes for a magical sight when you walk along at dusk.

P1020740

At the centre of the old town is St Mary’s Church, one of the largest brick-built churches in the world. Whilst not particularly beautiful it’s certainly impressive, and a climb to the top of the tower (400 steps) reveals fantastic views of the old town and beyond. We were very excited to be able to see our ‘house’ (just to the right of the green spire)!

P1020712

Central European food is hearty, stodgy and not to everyone’s taste, but I love a good pierogi (these are dumplings with a wide range of fillings) and we had some excellent ones at Pierogarnia U Dzika on Piwna. We also enjoyed some lovely, coffee filled times just down the street in Retro Cafe, ‘Pistachio Indulgence’ being my favourite caffeinated tipple. The cosy interior was so inviting on a grey afternoon.

IMG_2365

But the Solidarity Museum I mentioned at the start was my favourite thing in Gdansk. As far as ‘cold war’ museums go it’s definitely the best one I’ve been to – and believe me, I’ve been to a lot! It tells the story of the Solidarity movement, from its bloody beginnings in 1970, when 42 shipyard workers were killed by government troops during a strike, through the rise of Lech Walesa and Solidarity’s triumphant victory in 1980, followed by a brutal crackdown by the Polish govenment and the imposition of martial law, to the eventual crumbling of communism in 1989. What could’ve been a dry, dispiriting tale was transformed using imaginative exhibits and vivid displays into something inspirational.

P1020679

The hats of shipyard workers decorate the ceiling of one exhibit

P1020686    The first uprising took place between 14th and 22nd December 1970. Behind each of these neon numbers are accounts of what happened on that day

P1020687

Whilst the Polish press refused to cover events in its own country, the world’s media enthusiastically chronicled Poland’s fight for freedom from oppression

P1020689

The actual gates of the shipyard which were rammed by government tanks
during a protest

The museum seemed to be hugely popular with young Poles, often couples, who made up the bulk of the visitors. It’s no mean feat to make history accessible and engaging to the younger generation – the curators have done an excellent job.

P1020696

So, I hear you ask, what of the enthusiastic sampling of Poland’s craft beer? Well, I can happily report that Gdansk has a small but healthy craft beer scene, and that we partook of this keenly.  All in all, a great trip!

P1020701

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Knitting, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lush On Tour

  1. Love your cardigan! It’s a great colour too and really suits you. Have you seen the 20cm and 49 cm circular needles? I use them to do sleeves and hats and socks to avoid the ladder effect! And I’ll now be adding Gdansk to my list of places I need to go! I loved Kraków and Poland in general and want to go back.

  2. Sorry that should be 40cm! Not 49! That would be a random sized circular needle!!

    • incogknitter says:

      Thank you very much! It took ages to find a mustard shade I was happy with (this is Debbie Bliss Rialto DK shade Gold). Poland fantastic – I loved Kraków too! Thanks for the tip about the circular needles, I will definitely hunt those out x

  3. You’re making me want to take my own Lush cardie on tour to Gdansk now!

Leave a Reply

