A Lush Knit

image

I’m a bit late to the party with this I know, but I’ve wanted to knit the Lush cardigan by Tin Can Knits for ages, and I’ve finally got round to it at last. If you’re a knitter then you’ve probably seen this design; it’s extremely popular on Ravelry and Pinterest – you may even have knitted one yourself. There are certainly plenty of them about!

image

The construction is fabulous: first you knit an intricate (although actually quite simple) lace strip which is the cardigan’s signature yoke. It stretches all the way across the back and is a real showpiece. Stitches are picked up along the top edge for the neckband – this was mine just after I’d cast off the collar (much in need of further blocking).

image

 

The next stage is to pick up stitches along the bottom edge for the body. This top-down construction means you can try it on as you go, make adjustments and get a really clear idea of the finished result. Here I am checking out the body length having just finished the waist shaping (excuse the poor selfie).

image

 

As it turned out I decided the body was long enough about an inch before the 12.5 inches specified in the pattern, so the option to try on was brilliant for me. All that remains now is to knit the sleeves, which are picked up at the armholes and worked in the round, and then finally the front bands, which again are picked up. So, no sewing up! I’m aiming to get it all done in time for my annual pilgrimage to Central Europe – Gdansk in Poland this year – on 17th October. Sounds easy you might think, but in my experience sleeves always take waaaay longer than you think they’re going to. So we shall see…

image

Apologies for the back-to-front nature of this post, but I’ll end with a word about my chosen yarn. It’s one that needs no introduction really. It’s Debbie Bliss Rialto DK, which is a smooth and smooshy 100% merino. The quality is excellent, but it was the colour that sold it to me really, a gorgeous mellow mustard. If all goes well then I can see an autumn wardrobe forming around this containing lots of teal blue and deep burgundy. But I’d better get on and finish the knitting first!

 

 

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

