In progress

 

P1010551I have a new knitting project on the needles!ย It’s my version of the Your Victory sweater, a much written about pattern originally from 1945, which can now be found in the V&A museum archive.

2878809512_f2cfabd56c_z

I say it’s my version because along with deviating from the patriotic colour scheme I’m also creating my own shape. Fabulous though the short-bodied, hour-glass styling of the original is, I simply don’t have the 40s pin-up curves curves to carry it off! So I’ll be making it longer and less fitted at the waist.

P1010560The striking chevron stitch is incredibly easy and relaxing to do; every wrong side row is purl, and every right side row has a simple nine-stitch repeat which quickly becomes obvious as you work. And given that it’s worked in 4ply it seems to grow surprisingly quickly.

IMG_0923

After much deliberation (and some trial and error!) the yarn I finally chose was Blacker Swan, an exquisitely soft merino from the Falkland Islands. I’d been struggling to pick a palette of three colours until one morning I saw the perfect combination, on – would you believe – the livery of a lorry I drove past! The muted shades of this yarn were an excellent match for those colours, with a hint of black in each that pulls them all together. It feels luxurious and I can’t wait to wear the finished item.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In progress

  1. Oooh lovely. And now I want some of that yarn!

Leave a Reply

