Bake Fail!

Many knitting or crafting bloggers also excel at baking, but sadly I’m not one of them. If you’re hoping to see images of mouthwatering baked goods appearing on this blog, like this from Nothing But Knit, I’m afraid you’ll be sorely disappointed. I’m rubbish at baking. That’s not to say I can’t cook! I make great sauces, and a mean moroccan chicken, and last year’s Christmas dinner was a triumph! But anything remotely sugary is generally a disaster, or at best mediocre. It’s almost uncanny how often it goes wrong. And so it is with these chocolate fairy cakes, baked and ready for Katie to sell at school tomorrow for Sports Relief.

Image

Now, don’t all rush to pin this on Pinterest! Perhaps they taste better than they look but I wouldn’t bank on it. Despite following the recipe carefully the cakes came out small and a little bit hard. Then we came to make the icing and discovered that not only were we short on chocolate, we also didn’t have enough butter, so we made up the difference with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter (I know! know!) This is probably why the mixture refused to adequately mix – no matter how much we stirred it, great yellow lumps were still visible in the piped icing. Yuck. Perhaps ten-year-olds won’t be too discerning – for the sake of charity I hope so. I’m sure I’ll be sharing recipes for delicious savoury items on here in the future, but when it come to cakes, forget it!

This entry was posted in Food and drink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bake Fail!

  1. Haha the post is hilarious! I can bake but I don’t have the knitting bone in my body! I just don’t get it.. My nana is a pro and she has tried to teach me but I always fail! :p

Leave a Reply

