Yarnbomb!

IMG_0037Over the last two weeks I’ve been involved in a yarnbombing project, co-ordinated brilliantly by Alexandra Davis of Stitch n’ Bitch Colchester. Last night came the exciting moment when the yarnbomb finally went live

IMG_0034What a spectacular sight! If you’re based nearby and wish to seek it out it covers a ten metre wall just off Queen Street, very close to the Firstsite gallery.

I’d known about the plan for a good few months but I confess I only began my contributions when the final call went out, frantically knitting as much as I could in the final week! You know what they say – if it wasn’t for the last minute nothing would ever get done. I managed to churn out a couple of lurid panels of fuzzy blue and pink stripes which you can see in the image above.

DSC_0083

Over the last five months, thanks to Alex’s regular call-outs, an amazing collection of knitted and crocheted pieces had built up, from tiny decorative swatches to full-on blankets. Then came the task of stitching it all together, with which I lent a hand

IMG_0017

So finally it was finished, and on Friday evening in the rain it was ceremoniously stapled to the wall!

IMG_0039I think it’s a fabulous thing and I hope it gets lots of press coverage. I plan to revisit with Katie in a couple of days and take some proper photos – apologies for these; they were taken on my phone at 6.30 at night! Still, I think the gloriousness of it still shines through. I love the eclectic way the pieces have been assembled, making for some really interesting sections.

IMG_0040

IMG_0044IMG_0042The vest is definitely one of my favourite bits!

There’s more about the yarnbomb, plus some much better photos, on Alex’s tumblr here

This entry was posted in Knitty adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarnbomb!

  1. stitchboombang says:

    This is fantastic.

  2. Pingback: Vanilla knitting | Incogknitter

Leave a Reply

