Excuses, excuses

ImageWell I must confess, I didn’t get much knitting done on holiday. Just too many lovely distractions! I’m not normally much of a swimmer, but one dip in the cool, clear Adriatic  and I was hooked. The water was as refreshing as a plunge pool after a sauna.

Image

 

Being someone who inches into tepid swimming pools with much wincing I could hardly believe my eagerness to leap into the sea before breakfast. What’s more I’ve previously been reluctant, if not incapable, of getting out of my depth, but after being taught how to actually do breast stroke by my honourary mermaid daughter I was swimming all the way to a nearby island! (We won’t dwell on the fact that the current got the better of me on the way back and I had to exit at the nudist beach…)

Another distraction was, of course, beautiful Dubrovnik, which we visited three times.

Image

Image

Image It may have been hotter than the sun, and the beer may have been extortionate, but that didn’t stop it being magical, like going back in time, but with buskers.

ImageAnd then there were the books. We take our holiday reading quite seriously and spend weeks planning exactly which books to take, and then swap around and discuss them while we’re there. Nothing is more enjoyable to me than sitting in the warm shade with a cold beer and becoming engrossed in a book. Even knitting has to take a back seat to some things! 

But now I’m back home and there are no more excuses, so I’d better go and get on with it! 

Image

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Excuses, excuses

  1. joanfrankham says:

    it looks so beautiful there.

  2. Jane says:

    Any excuse, to get on that nudist beach 😉 looks like you had a great time

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    Looks blissful- how did you get on with Suetonius? It’s in my to read pile!

Leave a Reply

