Steek of faith

I took part in another workshop at Twist recently, involving Fair Isle in the round, two-handed knitting and steeking. The latter, if you don’t know, is where you take a pair of scissors and cut through your knitting. I swear that’s not a joke!

Image

More extraordinary still, the type of knitting that’s usually ‘steeked’ is intricate colourwork that will have taken eons to produce. A typical use for this technique is to take a Fair Isle ‘sweater’ and cut it up the middle to create a cardigan. Yes, I too used to consider this an insanity. The reason given, that Fair Isle is much easier to knit in the round, never sounded to me remotely worth the risk of weeks of painstaking effort unravelling before your eyes.

However, under the careful tutelage of Jane Crowfoot I’ve now given this madness a go.

Image

And here is the result – no fraying!

Image

The secret is the use of 100% wool, in this case Jamiesons Shetland Spindrift, a particularly ‘sticky’ wool at the best of times, which is then blocked and pressed to increase its tendency to magically adhere to itself. After some nifty assembling this long thin strip will turn into a bag, and the ‘steek’ will be oversewn securely, but in the meantime I’m confident that it won’t come undone, and I’m mulling over the idea of larger, more elaborate steeked projects in the future, something I never thought likely!

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steek of faith

  1. Your first photo make me draw breath! I’ve never seen this done though heard loads of people say it works successfully, thanks for the photos of before and after. I think I’d need a stiff drink though before working up the courage to chop my knitting up!

    • incogknitter says:

      I know, it’s so counterintuitive! I wouldn’t like to attempt it with anything other than a pure wool yarn like Jamiesons, which is actually quite difficult to unravel because the barbs on the fibres grip each other like velcro.

  2. Judi says:

    It’s funny how absolutely, horrifyingly wrong it seems to cut knitting (that first picture also made me shudder)

Leave a Reply

