Excuses…

I was hoping to finish my top before I went away to Devon on Saturday but unfortunately that’s not going to happen – I’ve still got the front neck to do and then the picot edges which are bound to be fiddly. Best not to rush, especially in the wake of my finishing course – I’m expecting great things of myself on that score!

My knitting was delayed partly because of a trip to Portugal last weekend. It was the hen weekend of my friend Kim, so whilst culture wasn’t high on the agenda it was easy to get a flavour of Porto, the lovely northern city where we spent our two nights, just by walking around and taking in sights like this:

ImageBelieve it or not that’s the railway station! Beautiful tiling is everywhere on the outside of buildings, lending them a decorative aspect that’s inherently cheering.

ImageNo wonder Kate Davies was inspired to design her Funchal Moebius wrap in response to a trip to Madiera. Likewise, Porto explodes with pattern and colour. It’s also pretty quirky.

Image

Octopus served on a book at Book.

And of course, it wouldn’t be a trip to Porto without a port tasting.

Image

 

So anyway, the knitting will be coming with me, and if the hail and single-figure temperatures of today is anything to go by I may well have it finished quite soon!  

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

