Reinvention!

This winter I had to finally accept a sad truth; the gloves I knitted about ten years ago, that I absolutely love and that have seen me through some of the coldest winters in living memory have finally had it. The fingers have been darned (badly!) again and again to the point where the darn is all that’s left.
DSC_0141
The pattern came from the classic Hats, Gloves & Scarves by Louisa Harding. Although I still have quite a bit of the yarn left (Rowan Yorkshire Tweed) I sadly can’t re-knit the fingers because the gloves are slightly felted, but for the life of me I can’t remember how I did it! It could’ve been by hand, it could’ve been in the washing machine, I don’t know, but the chances of stumbling upon the same effect and making the fingers the same as the rest are pretty remote. I also can’t reknit the gloves in their entirety because the yarn is now discontinued. So, what I’ve decided to do is knit a new version, in a different colour scheme and a different yarn – a 2013 remake! The yarn I’ve chosen is the luxe UK Alpaca Superfine DK and here are the colours
DSC_0140
It’s as light as a feather – very different from the Yorkshire Tweed – so the gloves will have a totally different character. I’m also going to knit them in the round (the original pattern was knitted flat) so no seams, and hopefully far fewer ends to sew in!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

