A weekend’s work

Quite pleased with my productive weekend. On Friday I became the proud owner of a finished granny square cushion, my first such creation.

 

  (The owl was made by Katie btw). And here’s the back: I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. It emerged from the ruins of a long-abandoned intarsia sweater I’d started about 9 years ago! The cotton yarn is Rowan but I’m sure it’s discontinued (I can’t remember what it is). Very nice though. My intarsia got hopelessly tangled and the whole thing was one big knot of yarn at the bottom of my stash, until one day I dug it out and decided to make granny squares. Luckily I had just enough green to make a nice, geometric nine. I knitted the back in garter stitch so it mirrored the texture of crochet but was easier (for me!) The stripes are really random and messy in some places because I was simply using up small bits of yarn that had been my intarsia bobbins. When I bought the cushion pad I didn’t think the front cover piece was quite big enough so I did about three of rows of dc around the edge, but actually as it turns out there’s a bit more room in there than needed; could’ve stopped at one or two rows. The buttons nearly didn’t make it onto the cushion; the day I bought them Cleo the rat ran off with one and wouldn’t give it back! Cue much squeaking. So, my plan to bring much colourful, homespun loveliness to my home is underway, and hopefully there will be much more to come. I also have on the needles this rather frightful-looking item which I promised Katie I would make for her: Yes, it is indeed a novelty fun-fur scarf. Actually I must confess it’s surprisingly nice stuff to knit with – I’d expected it to set my teeth on edge but it’s beautifully soft. I also rather like the effect of the pink and white stripes – 4 rows of each – because it mostly looks pink, but it’s almost holographic the way the white appears in certain lights. Who’d’ve thought! Finally, in the post today came this delightful package: This will hopefully become something utterly special and gorgeous over the Xmas break.

This entry was posted in Finished Objects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A weekend’s work

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

